PDA

View Full Version : Etowah Outfitters Tarp

Bucky Katt
08-31-2009, 13:21
Has anyone had experience using the Etowah Outfitters Tarp? I saw an 8x10 of this tarp --it appeared to be a gray silnylon material. Was quite lightweight...and very expensive.

I was just wondering if anyone has tried it and if they find it to be worth the money?

Also, in that size, it is one that you could use for hammock camping as well as a tarp tent shelter, if need be, correct?

Is 8x10 big enough to afford good weather protection? I'm having difficulty visualizing this.

Thanks!

JayS
08-31-2009, 14:34
I have no experience with the Etowah Outfitters tarp.

I use an 8x10 tarp (Campmor nylon, PU coated) with hammocks with little to no issues weather wise. My son loves this tarp for his ENO doublenest and I have used it for a HH Ex Assym. I believe I may have even hung two hammocks under it in a sleet storm but I can't remember for sure. The 10' length as ridgeline is big enough for almost any hammock. During the sleet storm, the wind changed direction and we added a raincoat to the end with the wind coming in to cut down on drifting sleet.

I have also strung it on the diagonal (ridgeline is then about 12.5') and it did nicely although coverage was a little weak at the ends... but then again, the ends are more than 12' apart.

This tarp has been around - we used it for that most hideous activity (sleeping on the ground) before we started hanging. It was plenty big enough for two pre-teens, a 65 pound dog, me and our gear during a night and day of heavy rain. I have also pitched it as a small one man shelter all the way to the ground in 30 mph winds and anchored it with rocks along the edge.

This size is a good, versatile size for many activities. If the weight & price is right, you probably won't go wrong. You may want a large tarp for extreme cold weather, though.

JayS

gargoyle
08-31-2009, 14:59