PDA

View Full Version : Where the wind comes sweeping down the plains

nitsud315
04-16-2015, 15:55
Hello all! Before this past weekend, i was just a recreational hanger, but then got my first nylon hammock. I have decided to jump into hammock camping, and hopefully drag some friends and family along with me.

A little about me, I am a Navy Veteran and live in Tulsa, Oklahoma. Tulsa is where I was raised, and is where I am raising my kids. After serving as an Aviation Electrician's Mate for 8 years, I decided to leave the Navy. I now work in an engineering department, and am using my G.I. Bill to go get an EE degree.
Most of my time is spent sitting in a cubicle, poking at a computer. The change from the fast-paced life on an air-craft carrier, to office has been rough, and its showing itself in my steady transformation into a pale loaf of a person. It is time to get active again. This Summer I plan to get outdoors and get my self right again.

For the past seven days or so, I have been stalking the forums and ravenously devouring YouTube bandwith, trying to figuring it all out. Words that i thought i knew, such as "whoopie", "ridgeline", "tree-hugger", and even "hang", all have new meanings to me.

I am excited to get outdoors, go out to the woods, and find first two trees!

Tree Hangers
04-16-2015, 17:22
Its good for the soul :cool:

skater
04-16-2015, 17:25
Welcome, and thank you for your service. Now go get some sunshine!

Shug
04-16-2015, 21:04
Whoooooo Buddy))))) Welcome to the hammock quest.
Shug

BillyBob58
04-16-2015, 23:14
Welcome! Must be fun hanging where there's a bright, golden haze on the meadow, and the corn is as high as an elephant's eye, and all the sounds of the earth are like music!

ylnfrt
04-17-2015, 01:27
Welcome, I'm kinda new also but love it. Thank you for your service and maybe we can hang sometime.

irondog
04-17-2015, 07:33