PDA

View Full Version : new to hammocks and can use some advice.

rayman87
05-05-2015, 01:14
Hello all,

I'm new to the world of hammock in and like many, woot got me. I bought a yukon Outfitters v2 camo but haven't got to try it cause I need things to hang it with. I've been watching shug religiously to learn what I can and I'll be going the tree strap with whoopee and Ridgeline.

What I wanted to ask is, I'm 6 ft and 220 lbs, do you think the YO hammock I got will fit me comfortably? It'd 9 ft 9 in long and 4 ft 11 inch wide.

Also, any got any suggestions for really cheap but quality (the best my cheap bums can afford) top quilts and underquilt or underblanket or anything really that can keep me warm but for a low price. I spent too much on other things and the wife is on me like a hawk.

I was thinking of repurposing a sleeping bag. I've even seen people do like a pea pod sleeping bag style. Is that really effective? I like backpacking will that add a lot of weight?

thank you all

webhanger
05-05-2015, 02:08
On the cheap! Work with what you have. Lots of folks around here are using ground pads and sleeping bags for the main thing, starting out in particular.

Hang out in the DIY section for some good ideas. Repurposing old gear can be pretty effective and not too expensive. At least until you get addicted. Good luck

Rolloff
05-05-2015, 02:41
Yukon is going to be a little short and also narrow for you. I'm thinking an 11' from BIAS or Dutch will at some point have your name written all over it.

The Yukon will give you a good idea though if hanging is going to be for you, and any decent whoopie sling or cinch buckle suspension you get to put on it, will be able to be switched from one hammock to another, when you do upgrade.