PDA

View Full Version : New to site and hammocks; Specific questions Re: WBBB / HH Expedition / Dutchware

azmtnbiker
05-29-2015, 22:41
Hi, let me make this kinda quick and introduce myself.

I'm new to hammocks for camping but not at all new to "niche" websites so I understand how crazy and detailed one can become over their passion/sport. Will be using a hammock primarily for camping in Northern Arizona during summer time. It's Pine tree country at an altitude of 6000ft to 7500ft. Nights in the summer time typically drop into the 50's maybe, barring a cold front thunder storm...which is very typical of N. AZ. I am also an avid mountain biker and have done several bikepacks...for those that don't know this is simply riding/camping and carrying most of what you need (if not all, on short trips) with you on your mtn bike...this means weight and space are paramount. However I am not "avid" bikepacker so super UL is not needed. I have done several overnighters carrying a solo tent/down bag/ground cover that weighs several pounds. Not ideal but good enough for me on my occasional outings. I just mention this so that you all dont' think super UL is "the" priority. For me it's a balance of weight/space/comfort.

To the point:
I've purchased a HH Expedition zip. Slept in it the last two nights in the backyard. I am also considering the WBBB double and the Dutchware 1.6 with The Butt in a Sling (BIAS) Buginator if needed.

The shelf on the WBBB is cool but not a deciding factor for me. I have done ton's of research here and on youtube so bear with me if my questions are routinely covered....I cannot find an answer so far.