PDA

View Full Version : Another Pad Question ?

Tacky Hiker
10-05-2009, 22:11
I need help choosing a pad. I am new to the hanging world. I have narrowed it down to 3, but if you have another suggestion let me know.

-Oware's Pad (38" X 60" X 3/16", 6oz) $28
-Minicel Foam (48x72x3/8",?) $32.99
-Speer SleepPad (40x80x1/4, 16oz) $36

Anyone know how much the Minicel weighs? If I go with the Minicel or Speer, I would trim down to about 36"x70. Save a little weight.

I have a Therm-A-Rest Prolite4 3/4 length pad, but I know these are not ideal for hammocks. My sleeping bag is a Sierra Designs Arrow Rock 15 degree Down.

I am in Alabama so the temps do not get crazy low. I need a pad good for the 30s at the lowest. I also sleep in thermal base layers. :)

Thanks in advance !

angrysparrow
10-05-2009, 22:19
I am in Alabama so the temps do not get crazy low. I need a pad good for the 30s at the lowest.

I wouldn't say that. I clearly recall camping on Duggar Mtn in AL last year at 15ºF with ~30mph winds. Also, many nights much colder than 30ºF in Bankhead NF.

You might not camp in those temps, though. ;)

For what you're describing that you want, I would go with the Speer pad. If you want to 'boost' the temp, you can always take the section that you cut off to 'double up' beneath you.

Tacky Hiker
10-05-2009, 22:29
True, but for the pad I want for it to be comfortable in the 30s. If I know it will be colder I will pack accordingly.

My first Sipsey trip I woke up Sunday in 3"+ of snow. I was awesome.

angrysparrow
10-05-2009, 22:35
My first Sipsey trip I woke up Sunday in 3"+ of snow. I was awesome.

Was that the snow from Feb/March of this year? If so, there was a HF hangout going on the same weekend. There were 9 or 10 members of this forum there at the same time.

Tacky Hiker
10-05-2009, 22:39
Yeah, I saw the hangout. We actually took a pic of all the hammocks covered in snow.:eek: We stayed about 100 yards down from you. That was a fun trip.