PDA

View Full Version : ENO hammock material?

BanjoPicker
07-28-2015, 21:41
Hi. Hammock noob here.

I have been looking at the Dream Hammock website… in particular the various fabric types and the amount of weight they are rated for. I am having a hard time squaring this with the ENO doublenest, which can support 400lbs. As a 6'3, 250 pounder, I want to make sure I'm not going to wake up with my tail on the ground!

Does ENO use some other kind of fabric besides the ripstop nylon that they use at Dream? What gives? From the Dream website, I'm lead to believe that a single layer hammock wouldn't be the best idea for someone my size. But ENO seems to say otherwise. Is ENO full of junk or do they have a cheap miracle fabric?

SilvrSurfr
07-28-2015, 21:50
You're only 250? Plenty of fabrics that will hold you up from Dream Hammock, Warbonnet, etc.

ENO is marketing to those who don't know anything about hammocks (that's their market). Specifically, their hammocks with a 400 lb. weight limit are usually marketed for people sleeping together in a hammock (though you have to have a screw loose to try and make THAT work).

Floridahanger
07-28-2015, 21:52
They use a heavier fabric that can hold more weight based on their own metrics. The Dream Hammocks are longer(this is good), but also weigh less.

Dream Hammocks and other cottage vendors here are more conservative in their ratings. To me, that gives me more confidence on the product for any given weight or temperature rating. If I got a hammock rated at 250lbs and that was my weight, NO PROBLEMS for me.

Shoot them a message or PM them here. Papa Smurf and Mama Smurf are great folks and make a superior product than the massed produced hammocks, IMO.

**edit**

And I wanted to add, Welcome to the forums.

PapaSmurf
07-28-2015, 22:26
Hi. Hammock noob here.