PDA

View Full Version : Thoughts on pak-it-lit fob?

Whyhave5
08-11-2015, 11:41
So I'm new to hanging and have a trip with friends the 3rd week of November planned. I'm getting older and getting off the ground is becoming a priority.

Temps will be high 40s-low50s with lows down to 20's.

Doing enough research to realize that doing this cheaply is going to be tough.

I then ran into camphammocks.com and saw the fob system. I contacted them and he confirms I will be more than fine with that setup. At $295 it seems like a good deal.

Anyone have experience? I saw some posts a while back here but thought I'd ask again

Thanks.

Comet_Seeker
08-11-2015, 12:14
I think if you do a search for the Pak-it-lite in HF threads there are a few out there

Pheonix6579
08-11-2015, 12:41
FFIW, I have no experience with the system but just looking at the system and the video I would go a different route. Here is why...

1. Tree straps: to promote healthy tree health you need to use at least 1in-2in webbing for around the trees. Thus insures that the tree id left just as health as when you found it. Rope cuts into the bark and can leave tree vulnerable.

2. The hammock:one of the joys of hammock camping for me is the ability to sit in my hammock and enjoy nature and not feel so closed in. This hammock shuts out pretty much all your views. But that is a picky thing i guess.

3. Tarp: For a system that you want to go down in lower temps I would want a tarp that gave me full coverage, no matter rain, shine, or snow

3. The System. It seems pretty thought out...maybe a bit over thought out, which is how I feel about the SMR Nube'.