PDA

View Full Version : Warbonnet Blackbirds vs. Hennessey Hammocks

SCGobbler
08-13-2015, 18:40
I am really new to hammock camping and I really wished I had shopped around here first before buying my Hennessey full price.

Anyway, what are the advantages and disadvantages of each?

They seem really similar other than the shelf and footbox.

Talk amongst yourselves.

Roche
08-13-2015, 18:49
The folks who own a Hennessy will like a Hennessy. The folks who own a Warbonnet will like a Warbonnet.

It's a Chevy / Ford or Coke / Pepsi or chunky peanutbutter / creamy peanutbutter type of thing.

jdr724
08-13-2015, 18:59
What about it do you regret vs the XLC?

How many nights have you spent in the Hennessey? Did you sleep well?

Rolloff
08-13-2015, 19:31
HH tends to run a bit short and narrow on many models. The Explorer seems to be the most comfortable for many in that order.

They are solid units, albeit a bit heavy and once you actually compare price points, costly as well. As with many mass marketed hammocks, you can expect to and have to figure in the cost of upgrading suspensions, and in HH case tarp as well. The stock diamond allows for minimal coverage, the upgraded HH Hex is better but Poly coated and heavier than need be.

IMHO you cannot fairly compare handmade cottage goods with anything mass produces these days. The WBBB is longer, wider, more comfortable, and while not the lightest, it stacks up pretty well against the HH. They come with proper suspensions, and ANY tarp from them will be better made and much lighter than most similar HH offerings.

gunner76
08-13-2015, 20:13