PDA

View Full Version : DIY underquilt

bayou joe
01-29-2010, 18:31
Hi, guys. Newbie here. I have a gathered end DIY hammock and I'm working on a low cost underquilt. Found a polyester comforter at Wally World for $5.00- good for an experiement. I've been experimenting with just doubling it and tying it up under the hammock and it works well. The idea I had was to leave a pocket between the layers to insert a blue pad or something else. Something else I thought of was to let the bottom layer hang below the top layer by an inch or so to create a dead air space. Any thoughts?

I'm not concerned too much about weight or bulk because I normally camp out of a boat.

slowhike
01-29-2010, 19:25
Welcome to HF Joe.
I think it would work just fine. I have used the cheap, poly, sheet type insulation from wallyworld to make an insulated hammock, & it did fine.
I think some of the more expensive synthetic insulations will give you more warmth w/ less weight & bulk, & I suspect they will hold up better over time, especially if you are cramming them into a stuff sack & pulling them out often. But cheaper options can work fine.
BTW... you probably know this but, you don't want to store insulation stuffed in a sack for longer than necessary.

Once when car camping, I used an acrylic blanket as an underquilt so a friend could sleep warm in an extra hammock. Worked fine.
You'll just have to experiment to see how cool of temps that set up will keep you warm in.
The ccf pad will add warmth for sure, but instead of putting it between the layers of the folded comforter, I would put it between the comforter & the hammock. That way, the ccf won't stop moister evaporating from your body, trapping it in the inside layer of the comforter.

bayou joe
01-29-2010, 20:14