PDA

View Full Version : What's the Right Amount of Sag?

SteveE
09-03-2017, 20:37
Is there a formula or general rule of thumb in order to get the proper sag when setting up your hammock? I don't have a fancy hammock, just and ENO Double Nest and I find my sleeps are very inconsistent because of the varying degrees of sag I have depending on how I set it up. I find I lay flatter if it is tight, but then it feels very rigid and almost too narrow. But when I loosen it a bit and create a bit more sag I find it harder to get that nice side sleeping position because my body feels too curved. Any tricks anyone can share?

Thanks!

Trail Troll
09-03-2017, 20:55
Do you have a ridgeline on your hammock?

SteveE
09-03-2017, 21:03
I do not....Funny I've been using my hammock for several years now but never really did much research into it. I'm just realizing about important things like this!

Tikker
09-03-2017, 21:12
Part of it is that eno are fairly short as far as camping hammocks go.

SteveE
09-03-2017, 21:18
Again I'm starting to do a bit of research and am seeing that is a big factor as well. I had no idea that a longer hammock makes for a better lay (but makes total sense). I like the width of the ENO because I use it as a chair (seated sideways) around camp.... What would you suggest is a good length?

Phantom Grappler
09-03-2017, 21:21
I'd buy another hammock--at least 11 feet long by 5 feet wide and even better a little longer and wider. Say 11 feet six inches long by 5 feet six inches wide.
My comfortable hammock is 12x 6---maybe more fabric than you might need for a good snooze.
Add a hammock structural ridgeline.
Multiply number of inches of hammock length times .83 to get length of hammock structural ridgeline (SRL)
So if your new hammock is eleven feet long---that is 11x12 equal 132 inches
Multiply 132x .83 equal 109.56 inches
Say 110 inches can be your new SRL