PDA

View Full Version : Rose Feather quality

Kayak_Medic
11-26-2017, 19:44
In anticipation of my venture into the world of DIY, I purchased some bulk down from Rose Feather on Amazon. I bought two 500 gram packs of 100% white goose down rated at 950+ FP. The price was $69.95 per 500 grams, which is 1.1 pounds, or just over 17 ounces. The down came packed into two individual pillows, so it's not the most user friendly option. Would have been much nicer packed into more manageable 1 or 3 ounce packages, but for this price, I'll deal with a little inconvenience.

For those curious about the quality of the Rose Feather down, I let my curiosity get the best of me, and decided to cut the pillow open to inspect a small handful. Here's some photos of what I found. This is my first time ever messing with down, so take my thoughts with an appropriate grain of salt. I found one feather in the sample I pulled. From what I've read about down, this stuff looks to be pretty high quality, and I'd guess is pretty close to what's advertised.

knightshade
11-26-2017, 20:10
It is intersting to see that your tag lists a fill power.
I had a similar purchase, but it was for 700+ fill power ($36 for 450g).
I thought it could make an interesting DIY project.
In contrast, my tag doesn't list a fill power on it.

PharmGeek
11-26-2017, 20:18
I think it markets it as 850 not 950....? Double check if you will?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Kayak_Medic
11-26-2017, 20:18
It is intersting to see that your tag lists a fill power.
I had a similar purchase, but it was for 700+ fill power ($36 for 450g).
I thought it could make an interesting DIY project.
In contrast, my tag doesn't list a fill power on it.

What does your tag have on it? Did it come sewn into a small pillow like mine? I don't see 700 FP listed on the amazon link I used. They have 750+ 850+ and 950+ listed. Does yours say it's 80% goose down? That's how they list the 750+ down

PharmGeek
11-26-2017, 20:20