PDA

View Full Version : bag warmth

Mundele
06-28-2010, 13:41
Got a hypothetical insulation question for you. Lets say I have a down bag, say 30 degree rated. It's a mummy bag and it has a thickness (when used as a mummy bag) of 2" of down on top of me. (this is hypothetical by the way).

If I were to use the same bag as a quilt on top of me, would the down pile up differently because of the sides of the hammock making the layer thicker and increasing the thickness of down, thus the temperature rating?

--Matt

lori
06-28-2010, 14:23
Does the mummy bag have continuous baffles, ie, is there a seam separating the top of the bag from the bottom? Can the down migrate freely in the baffle from one side of the zipper to the other? A side seam would limit the effectiveness of shaking down into the middle of the "quilt."

turnerminator
06-28-2010, 14:29
Put simply, Yes. The down will be able to trap more air above you.

Drafts around the head end are a worse problem though, as is dribbling on the hood.

Please note:- I only dribble hypothetically. :lol:

Mundele
06-28-2010, 18:11
Drafts around the head end are a worse problem though, as is dribbling on the hood.

Please note:- I only dribble hypothetically. :lol:

I don't play basketball. oh you said dribbling ON the hood.

Aren't drafts around the head a problem with quilts too?

turnerminator
06-28-2010, 18:32
I don't play basketball. oh you said dribbling ON the hood.

:lol:

Aren't drafts around the head a problem with quilts too?

I would think so, but I only use a bag. My bag cost too much to leave at home, and it works great in the hammock as a quilt/ mouth mop.

I go to ground sometimes and I think a bag is better for me on the ground.

tjm
06-28-2010, 18:37
more loft = more warmth

but you would need the same loft in your UQ too

not quite double the warmth but a lot, test it this Fall

SkyPainter
06-29-2010, 12:38