PDA

View Full Version : ENO Slap Straps... JUNK??????

jons4real
07-02-2010, 20:36
The general consensus was that the Slap Straps ENO sells for suspension were no good why is that? They look really nic eto me but I'm new to this so... yeah I have no idea,lo. I mean other than dropping a few ounces what else is the benifits of swappin them out.:confused:

Hawk-eye
07-02-2010, 20:40
All I can tell you is from personal experience ... they stretch ... and that's not good for support straps. Also they rely on fixed loops to attach the hammock to. That limits the adjustment. Most times that's not too big a problem but other times it can be.

By far the worst is the fact they stretch ... you set the hammock and get in it stretches ... you adjust to accomodate it and later while you're in it ... it will stretch some more.

jons4real
07-03-2010, 10:29
So whats the best thing to replace them with?

Bubba
07-03-2010, 10:54
Polyester or polypropylene webbing is available at many of the manufacturers listed in the manufacturing forum. JacksRbetter, Arrowhead Equipment, Whoopieslings.com to name a few.

Wolverine
07-03-2010, 12:06
Hey,

Check out this Company, I recently purchased some nice straps from them.

http://www.strapworks.com/Default.asp

lizzie
07-03-2010, 12:47
I wish I'd discovered this forum earlier, I'd have gone the Whoopie Slings route, and still will upgrade at some point.

That said, I have used my Slap Straps at least ten times, and while they do stretch, I have yet to end up on the ground (and I weigh 240.) I wouldn't call them junk. The lack of adjustability is an annoyance.

Bubba
07-03-2010, 13:16
...The lack of adjustability is an annoyance.

This is the main reason I got rid of mine The spacing on the loops were too far apart for my liking. They eventually stop stretching but you have to readjust after initial set up. Whoopie slings are great and much lighter as well.

lizzie
07-03-2010, 13:47