PDA

View Full Version : Will I need an UQ at 55 deg.

Backtrack
08-30-2010, 07:13
Hey! I'm very new to the hammock camping. I want to take it on a trip this weekend but it may be chilly. It will get down to 55 at night and all I have right now is a prolite 4 Thermarest and sleeping bag. I'm a medium temp sleeper, will this work or will I need to borrow a UQ? Thanks for your help!

NCPatrick
08-30-2010, 07:16
Howdy Backtrack!

If I were in your shoes, I would need an UQ at 55F. I think most folks feel a bit cool on the backside starting around 70F, give or take 5 degrees or so... I'm a cold sleeper, so it starts feeling cool earlier for me.

just my .02

Just Jeff
08-30-2010, 07:18
You need something under you at 55F. The ThermaRest will work, though you'll be right on the line of cold shoulders. Still worth testing out, IMO - enjoy your trip!

Backtrack
08-30-2010, 08:11
Ok, Thanks for the help!

eflat7
08-30-2010, 09:03
I wouldn't go under 60 without an UQ either. Just my .02 cents. Even with a pad, you will probably get cold with that thing slipping and sliding. I sleep cold, and anything under 55 I will also take a hammock sock.

I'm going out this weekend and can't wait for the cooler weather!

Backtrack
08-30-2010, 11:14
Yep. I heard that the pad likes to move alot and I think that would get on my nerves all night. We are going to do the Roan Mt. section of the AT so the weather might get colder at higher elevations. I hate to say it but I might have to take the tent until I get my hands on a UQ. I would love to make one, but it wont happen this week.

Hope you have a great trip. We are keeping an eye on Hurricane Earl!

BillyBob58
08-30-2010, 11:20