PDA

View Full Version : Skeeter Beeter vs. Skeeter Beeter Pro

Buffalo Skipper
09-15-2010, 11:36
G'day all.

I am looking at the GT Skeeter Beeter and GSSB Pro. I am 200# and 6'1". I am wondering if anyone can suggest which may better fit my size. Is the extra 150# buffer worth it? Will the 6" difference in length and width make me more comfortable.

I guess I alone can determine if the extra 8 oz is worth the extra money/comfort/security. But I can ask you for your opinions.

outkastblast
09-15-2010, 14:39
I'm 6'7" and 215lbs (was 252) with the SBPro. It's a bit on the wide side in my opinion. You're far enough away from the upper weight limit of the SB, I'd go with the weight and cost savings.

Mickey.223
09-15-2010, 14:39
I'm a noob myself. But based upon my reading here and in "Hammock Camping" by Ed Speer...here's what I have come up with:

...I am looking at the GT Skeeter Beeter and GSSB Pro. I am 200# and 6'1". I am wondering if anyone can suggest which may better fit my size. Is the extra 150# buffer worth it? /QUOTE]

The static force applied to the supports, the suspension, and the hammock material itself goes up (multiplier) based upon the angle of the suspension relative to the supports. True weight is more dynamic based upon a number of factors so, if I understand it correctly, then yes, the buffer is worth it. Here's the link to the thread/chart: http://www.hammockforums.net/gallery/files/3/0/1/7/hammockphysics_original_original.jpg Here is another great chart. http://www.hammockforums.net/forum/showpost.php?p=174812&postcount=18

[QUOTE=Buffalo Skipper;319768]...Will the 6" difference in length and width make me more comfortable. I guess I alone can determine if the extra 8 oz is worth the extra money/comfort/security. But I can ask you for your opinions.