PDA

View Full Version : Nesting sleeping bags

sseaman
11-01-2010, 08:16
I have a 35 degree REI bag, and a 40 degree REI bag, I did a trial run a few weeks ago in the upper 30's with the 35 degree bag, and stayed warm, with the my underquilt in place. I am getting ready for a weekend trip and the forecast is for mid 20's. The 40 degree bag is 3/4 zip, so I am thinking of using it as an over quilt.

Any thoughts?

sr1355
11-01-2010, 08:31
I'd be interested to hear how it goes for you. I have a zero bag and a 25* bag that I'm thinking of figuring a way out to NEST together to use your term... I'm wondering if you might get some insulation compression in the footbox with a 3/4 zip over the other bag....

Knotty
11-01-2010, 08:36
It can be hard to deal with two bags in a hammock but you do what you have to. The benefit isn't always as great as you might expect because the outer bag can compress the inner.

There's a great article on the subject out there but I can't remember where. Maybe someone has a link.

fourdog
11-01-2010, 08:46
The key to using two bags, is one is over sized from the other and then you do not have the compressin.

Also a lot of the sythinitics do not compresses as easly as others and or down.

Wiggy bags are a good example of that and always remember loft =
warmth.

Just because a mfg says there rating don't mean its true. If you don't have the loft you don't have insulation.

fourdog

tjm
11-01-2010, 10:22
IMO, when nesting two bags in a hammock, you should consider the bags as your TQ only.

This is my experience nesting two sleeping bags while using sleeping pads in a tent.

When I first started, I bought a BA Encampment model sleeping bag because it fit my budget and I liked the insulation on top and pad on the bottom BA system.

The bag was rated for 15*F but only worked to ~25-30*F for me. I think the semi-mummy cut caused me to have too much dead air space.