PDA

View Full Version : Winter Incubator: 1st Impressions

Str1der
12-17-2010, 10:48
At long last, my winter Incubator arrived! This is the first and only uq I have ever used or even seen in person, and I have to say, I was caught off guard at first. Upon removing the uq from its stuff sack, I was certain that I had been sent a summer version my mistake. There was simple no way something that light and that flatly compressed would loft up to 4". I set it out on the bed to loft. It did, but only to about 2". :confused: Then I remembered that I am a down noob, so I gave the uq a good shake-out to fluff it. That did it, and 4-5" of loft promptly erupted! :lol::lol::lol:

Excited, I ran outside to hang my ENO Single and attached the Incubator. Without my sleeping bag, it was a strange feeling to be cold on top and warm underneath, rather than the other way around. I rolled onto my side, and from this position, I had goose bumps on my right side (facing up) while my left side became toasty warm in a matter of seconds. Unfortunately, it began to rain right then, so I didn't get any pics, but I’ll try to post some tonight.

The workmanship appears to be top notch. I had never used an uq before, but I had it rigged correctly (at least I think so ;)) within minutes. A quick tightening on the shock cords on both ends to snug it up, and I was in business!

Got my uq from Stormcrow and a WBBB on order from Brandon. Now I just need to get a tarp from one of the other HF vendors to complete my random sampling...at least for now...

Cranky Bear
12-17-2010, 10:55
Congrats on the great purchase(s), that UQ will never let you down!!!

MattH
12-18-2010, 08:30
I was the same way with my Crowsnest when it came. As soon as I hung it and got it I could feel the warmth. It's awesome.

Str1der
12-18-2010, 13:00
Going to try my hand at posting some pics. I'll try to get some pics of it on my hammock later if it ever stops raining. :(

stormcrow
12-18-2010, 13:24