PDA

View Full Version : Hammock, UQ or Operator Error ?

OutandBack
03-11-2011, 10:06
Just received my 3S Incubator and tested it last night in the back yard.

http://www.hammockforums.net/forum/picture.php?albumid=821&pictureid=7344

I was a very mild night ~45F.
I did the usual tweaks to the shockcord (knot about 5" below the factory knot) and snugged the end cords (4" each) to get a good seal.

All seemed fine for about an hour then noticed my shoulders had not warmed up like my feet and butt.

While laying in the hammock I stuck my hand between the UQ and hammock and notices the quilt was touching my butt and legs but
there was a 4" gap between the hammock and UQ from my waist to head. The ends were tight and sealed against the hammock.

Anyway thought I'd ask if anyone had this issue and what you did to fix it.
After breakfast I'm heading back out to play with the adjustments.

thanks for any info you can offer...

BillyBob58
03-11-2011, 10:30
I have no experience with this brand yet. But based on other gear I have used: how is your head positioned relative to the UQ? More than one UQ that I use requires fairly critical positioning. The main thing that usually needs to be dealt with is making sure the quilt's head end edge is not too close to your head, or even your neck. It might even need to be ~ at shoulder level for optimum fit.

That's all I've got, no other ideas or guess'.

Cranky Bear
03-11-2011, 10:31
Sometimes because of the length and weight of the quilt can cause it to sag even though it looks like it is ok! Try using a piece of shock cord tied to the small tabs on the UQ to raise it up/hold the quilt up higher (just loop it over the hammocks ridgeline)!

stormcrow
03-11-2011, 10:44