PDA

View Full Version : trek light

shiftyer1
05-23-2011, 12:40
I've torn my double hammock, how can I fix it?

shiftyer1
05-23-2011, 13:48
from all the replies I have a feeling i'm just out of luck?

beep
05-23-2011, 13:58
from all the replies I have a feeling i'm just out of luck?

While I have no specific experience with Trek Light hammocks, in general the loads on hammock fabric can make repairs very chancy. Repairs may get you through a trip but I'd be inclined to go ahead and replace a significant tear. YMMV.

TrekLightGear
05-23-2011, 15:32
Tear-Aid is the patch I use and recommend for all repairs. It's extremely durable and has held up to load bearing, weather and all the typical hammock usage I've seen so far. I definitely recommend putting a patch on both sides of the hammock tear for maximum strength.

I actually recently made arrangements for us to begin selling Tear-Aid patch kits, but it may be a couple weeks before we've got them in stock. For now, you can order them online or visit their website to find a local retailer.

http://www.tear-aid.com/stores.htm

If there's anything else I can help with, just let me know.

TrekLightGear
05-23-2011, 15:45
I should have clarified my post a little bit since I realized I have no idea what size of a tear you're describing. I've only ever attempted repair on small holes and tears (ember burns, puncture holes, etc.) If you're talking about a large tear (anything over a couple inches) then patch repair is less likely to be effective.