PDA

View Full Version : Need Constructive Criticism

Mockingbird
06-19-2011, 20:28
Hi Gang! I'm a newbie at hammocking, and just received my OES MacCat Deluxe (silnylon) with a single panel pull-out on each side and sewn-on doors by 2QZQ (both highly recommended!)...I've enclosed some photos of my first official hang with it (used a continual ridge line), and would like some constructive criticism.

A couple of questions:

1) How long should the "drip line" for rain water runoff be (see extra orange line in pic)?
2) I'm taking this tarp on an AT thru-hike next year: since I'm new to this, is it best to just stick with the stock webbing or is it lighter/less fiddle factor to go tree huggers-whoopie slings?
3) (Adding to #2) Is it lighter/less fiddle factor to use a continual ridge line or two separate lines?

Diab
06-19-2011, 20:48
1. I'm not sure, but someone definitely will.
2. That's really a matter of personal opinion. Try whoopies and see if you like them.
3. I'm also not sure, but somebody will be able to help you with that.

Finally, I noticed you tied a back up knot for your cinch buckles. With those cinch buckles, a backup is no longer required, and in fact, I am pretty sure it is discouraged. Something about damaging the webbing I think. I realize this post may not have been very helpful, but I just thought I would toss in my 2 cents.

EDIT: Oh, and with the MacCat, I am pretty sure you don't need a continuous ridgeline. You can have a line coming from either end. And for ease of use, instead of tying all those knots for your tarp, you can look into getting some tarp flyz from Dutch. They really cut down on the setup time and they weigh next to nothing. Plus they are made out of titanium, which is just cool.

Bubba
06-19-2011, 20:48
Set up looks pretty good.

I love the little bridge in the first picture. :)

Drip lines don't need to be long at all, even just six inches would be enough.