PDA

View Full Version : Ridgeline?

Narwhalin
05-04-2008, 09:52
This is a neat way of rigging the tarp. Go to tarp setup: http://www.bushcraftnorthwest.com/articles/articles.htm

I like this way for packing up: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DR3DMj-zJu8

The bushcraft article about tarp setup had me thinking...

They use a "ridgeline" running from tree to tree and secure the tarp to that line, then guy out the sides. I thought that you just tied out the tarp to the trees without any line running underneath. Can someone clear this up for me?

Dutch
05-04-2008, 10:02
From what I have seen most people use the seam as the ridgeline. Maybe if the seam went perpendicular to the ridge line then you would want a seperate RL to reduce stress on the seam but that is still doubtful. I think people use to use a seperate ridgeline before tarp got so strong and light.

Narwhalin
05-04-2008, 11:07
I have no tarping experience, (yet!) but I have been using the seam for the ridgeline in my test hangs. Is there a structural advantage to using the rope with regards to the shape you acheive?

Ramblinrev
05-04-2008, 11:32
Maybe I am hanging it wrong, but my tarp always ends up resting on the ridge of my HH. I think it can be personal choice as to whther to have a separate ridgeline or not.

Hector
05-04-2008, 11:43
A full cord ridgeline is not necessary. That said, if you just want one, use one. HYOT (hang your own tarp). :)

TiredFeet
05-04-2008, 11:45
Personal preference. :D

Seems that most people now do as Dutch said.