PDA

View Full Version : Will my tent pad work?

Noshtero
07-09-2008, 12:23
I'm very new to hanging, in fact, I've never done it and my first hammock is shipping right now. It is a Claytor Jungle Hammock

There's no way I can afford an underquilt at this moment, so I'm looking to a pad. I plan to have my sleeping bag with me in the hammock, it's a 30 degree down bag.

I have an REI litecore 1.5 self inflating pad. It is 20" at the shoulder, and then mummy cut at the feet. Will this be enough coverage? Should I instead be looking to a closed cell pad? I think the thermarest ridgerest is available in a wide version at 25" If I went with the ridgerest, would I want the standard or deluxe? I'm looking for summer camping for now, but I do tend to get cold at night.

Thanks!

jaiden
07-09-2008, 12:26
IMO, get a very wide pad from oware or gossamer gear, or a SPE
http://shop.bivysack.com/category.sc;jsessionid=C07D93FAE4A7E6C342FB352FB3F 4645B.qscstrfrnt02?categoryId=3
http://www.speerhammocks.com/Products/SPE.htm
http://www.gossamergear.com/cgi-bin/gossamergear/thinlight.html
(wide one!)

I'm good to 45 or so (maybe less) with just the oware pad and some down on top (use your bag as a quilt)

angrysparrow
07-09-2008, 12:50
Your current pad should fit into the pad sleeve of the Claytor. Try that out first. If you find you need a wider pad, you can then look at a CCF.

te-wa
07-09-2008, 12:53
im not a big guy and the skimpy 20" pad is too small for even me. Its better to have extra shoulder coverage IMO. GOssamer Gear sells a 40" pad that you can customize for your needs. Mine is cut 25" and that is monumentally more comfortable. YMMV.

Hector
07-09-2008, 14:09