PDA

View Full Version : Oh no! no way to hang what now?

m_walker
08-23-2008, 03:44
oh my goodness what have I found on the internet:D I am a newbie, so what do you all do when there are no trees? Do you pack a sleeping pad and just use the hammock as a bivvy?
m

Dutch
08-23-2008, 04:02
Sometime you can be stuck somewhere that doesn't have trees. You may be above tree line, in the desert, or the forest is so dense that you can't find a good place to hang. There are a few remedies, but you should plan on being able to go to the ground. Many of the hammocks can be set up on the ground like a bivy using trekking poles. I don't think it is really done often in the field. It's still the ground but you get rain and bug protection. You may be able to hang on some boulders. Having climbing equipment will be real helpful for this.

If there was a possibility that I wouldn't have any trees I would take a pad for under hammock insulation. You can still use your tarp for rain protection.

My remedy is to only go where there are trees within walking distance. It is pretty easy here on the east coast.

slowhike
08-23-2008, 07:35
Welcome to HF M Walker.
What parts of the world do you usually hike in? I hike in the SE of the US & the only times I've seen someone really have to go to the ground was when there was when an old hammock ripped down the center. This was Ed Speer testing a hammock to failure & it failed him on a winter hike on Mt Mitchel, NC. There have been other cases no doubt, that's just my personal experience.

Most people agree that it's a good idea to have at least a 3/4 length ccf pad to use in case of such emergencies as well as for extra warmth in the hammock & a sit pad.

bear bag hanger
08-23-2008, 11:01