PDA

View Full Version : What type of fabric is this?

JonnieBlaze
10-02-2008, 20:06
Hey everyone,

I found some fabric at my local walmart. I'm going to go pick it up tomorrow (didn't have enough money when I found it) if its still there, but I'd like to know what it is. I have no experience with fabric, but I know what 1.9oz ripstop nylon is as that's what I'm currently using for my hammock body. I'm guessing this is 1.1 oz ripstop nylon? Its really thin, you can see through it, and it has no type of coating on it. It frays into really fine 'fluffy' frays.

What would this be good for? I'm sure it too weak for a hammock body right? I had a 1.9 oz body rip right in half once. I can't believe 1.1 would hold up at all. Thoughts?

http://img229.imageshack.us/img229/4590/dsc00390yn2.jpg
http://img229.imageshack.us/img229/5286/dsc00391ce6.jpg
http://img229.imageshack.us/img229/4540/dsc00392nf5.jpg

slowhike
10-02-2008, 21:24
Yep, 1.1oz rip stop would be my guess. I've used that same type stuff from the dollar bin for under & top quilts (shell & liner). You could spray the outter shell of either a top or bottom quilt made w/ that stuff with DWR to help it's water, wind, & down resistance.
It could probably be used for a double hammock too.

GrizzlyAdams
10-02-2008, 21:46
the brown material looks just like some stuff I have. Weighs 1.0 oz/sq yd, uncoated. I made a double-bodied hammock with it that holds me up just fine (I'm 190 lbs).

Grizz

BurningCedar
10-03-2008, 06:44
Looks like the same two pieces I found in the Springfield, MO Walmart. Here's what I found (YMMV):

The olive drab was uncoated nylon ripstop, probably 1.1 ounce. I could breath through it. I didn't buy any of this.

The gray-green was VERY light silnylon. I couldn't breath through it at the store and it passed the no-water-leak test at home. It seems exceptionally light at 1.1 ounces/sq yard on my home scales (1.1 ounce silnylon usually weighs 1.3-1.5 ounces after the silicon coating is applied).