PDA

View Full Version : Joining the DD party - any wisdom to share?

DanRomani
10-05-2012, 08:05
I've just received (very quick) delivery of my DD travel Hammock with whoopie sling suspension kit and XL tarp.

I'm planning to use it while touring UK and Europe on my motorbike next summer; so I have plenty time to get used to it/modify it etc.

I'm off to plunder this forum for information about getting the right hang, installing an internal ridge line, tarp setup for bivvy mode etc, modifications, etc etc

Any suggestions on these topics, general hints and tips from other DD users or even recommendations of beautiful places/good biking roads to visit in Europe would be much appreciated here as well :)

DanRomani
10-05-2012, 09:16
I might add that I'm a complete newbie.

Not just to hammock camping but to any form of camping! So, anything you know is likely to be useful =D)

Dan

Lister
01-15-2013, 13:24
I would start by ensuring you have a good sleeping bag and some form of ground/underhammock insultation as laying in a hammock compressed the bottom of the sleeping bag giving you CBS....cold butt syndrome

NarlocB
01-17-2013, 09:23
You can use a pad with the hammock as well. I've only been in mine once since I got it. But as soon as I can escape for a weekend i plan to sleep for 36 hours straight in it!!!!

Passinthru
01-17-2013, 11:24
The only modifications I made to my Frontline were to add a couple of eyelets on each side to use as tie-outs to help spread the hammock - seemed like a good idea but I have never used them. I like the 'hug'.
The other mod I made was to add some more short strips of velcro to secure the opening between the bottom layers a little better. On the newer model that may not be needed.