PDA

View Full Version : Complete WL Winter Kit - Any suggestions?

Tobit
10-08-2012, 13:52
I am getting ready to place a rather large order with Marty sometime this week. I am retiring a four year old DD Hammock and in need of a new complete winter kit.

Here is what I am looking to pull the trigger on:

Night Owl with adjustable ridgeline
Oldman Winter Tarp, 144", with flatline mod
3/4" Down Under Quilt with 8 oz. extra down
XXL Top Quilt with 6 oz. extra down
Large Lazy Slug Tube

I think this will be a really nice setup and I'm hopeful, with proper clothing, to get down to 0F degrees with this.

Any suggestions on anything I should reconsider or do differently? For reference, I am 6' 2" tall and 280 lbs. I am debating a tarp skin but I have been using tarps for six years and never saw the need for one and, to be honest, it would put me a bit over budget to add it on at this time. Hell, this is all more than I should spend on but it should be worth it long term. :cool:

Thanks!

zetroe
10-08-2012, 17:18
Why so much overstuff? I am guessing it is to push the rating lower but maybe marty could make larger custom baffles for you? Looks like an awesome set up he is great to work with and order from!

Tobit
10-08-2012, 17:21
Why so much overstuff? I am guessing it is to push the rating lower but maybe marty could make larger custom baffles for you? Looks like an awesome set up he is great to work with and order from!
Yeah, his standard stuffs == a quilt rated to 15F degrees. Over-stuffing should get me to 0F or even a little lower.

XSrcing
10-08-2012, 17:34
1 lb, 1 oz of down in 3/4 underquilt sounds like a bit much.

Tobit
10-08-2012, 17:43
1 lb, 1 oz of down in 3/4 underquilt sounds like a bit much.
Quite possible but overkill has always been my middle name. Weather here in the White Mountains can change quite unexpectedly and extremely. I just want to be sure the quilt is good to 0F or -5F degrees.