PDA

View Full Version : My take on Summer Series Quilts

tnvarmint
02-12-2013, 16:36
This is my first attempt at making a video like this so go easy on me.

RDIpa86k-WY

As promised here are my first impressions of the Wilderness Logics Summer Series Quilts. As I stated in an earlier post, when I first received the quilts in the mail I looked them over to see the quality of the stitching and such. I could not find a single imperfection in anything. Everything about the quilts screamed perfection.

It was a few days until I got the chance to head out for an overnight trip with my oldest son to try the quilts out. The temps were expected to be in the upper 40s for the high and lower 30s for the low. We hiked in to our spot and found that the site we had planned on camping in had been trashed pretty badly by previous campers. It looked like they had left most everything behind including their tent, food and clothes.

We spent the first hour or so cleaning up the camp spot. After getting things cleaned up some, we set about hanging our hammocks and getting everything set up. This was also my official hammock hang so setting things up was interesting. I have had a hammock out when doing several nights at the lake and such but would sleep in my tent and not the hammock.

After a day of fishing and goofing off with my son, we decided to hit the hammocks around 8:30 PM. I was dressed in my synthetic long john base layers, Columbia Zip-Off Pants, a short sleeve synthetic shirt, fleece ¼ zip shirt and Mountain Hardware 800 FP down jacket. On my feet I had a pair of Darn Tough merino wool socks and a pair of Smart Wool socks over top of those.