PDA

View Full Version : SS Driving Me Insane

JaxHiker
01-20-2009, 18:32
Ok, I have to be doing something seriously wrong here. I got my SS this past weekend and can't for the life of me figure this thing out. Hell, I develop software for a living and this is boggling my mind. It seems like I can't get anything to fit/lay right/flat. Ok, maybe I'm assuming it should lay flat but I don't see why it wouldn't. Instead, I end up with a mountain in the middle. This is what it looks like from outside. Notice how the opening to the SS is super high and at an angle.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v386/fotomonkey/hiking/gear/shelter/IMG_0965.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v386/fotomonkey/hiking/gear/shelter/IMG_0972.jpg

This is the mountain I was talking about.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v386/fotomonkey/hiking/gear/shelter/IMG_0963.jpg

This is what it looked like when I lifted the hammock.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v386/fotomonkey/hiking/gear/shelter/IMG_0969.jpg

And finally, how bunched up it is when I'm inside.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v386/fotomonkey/hiking/gear/shelter/IMG_0968.jpg

I assumed that the loops on the pad would match perfectly with the tie-outs on the hammock and the holes in the UC. Instead it sits cockeyed with a few inches' gap. Not sure if this is contributing to my troubles or not.

The instructions really don't seem that hard and I'm befuddled as to why this is causing me such grief but I've about had it. :mad:

Mrprez
01-20-2009, 18:47
I think you have the pad in there upside down. Did you try it the other way? The side ties should line up with the tieouts on the hammock and the UC. It should not be bunched up like that.

MacEntyre
01-20-2009, 19:02
I develop software for a living
That's the problem... this is hardware. :rolleyes:

Seriously, the pad has a seam that goes from one hammock tie out to the other. If the loops on the pad don't line up with the tie-outs on the hammock, it is upside down.