PDA

View Full Version : Fabric Help!

Briefcase
02-26-2009, 18:12
First and Foremost, I'm new to this, and Need some sort of guidance or help, and I'm hoping that some kindly people here might be willing to lend me their sage advice.

Me and a friend are planning to go camping in the tropics for 5+ months, living off the land as much as possible, and hiking/exploring the island we've picked.

We just started buying all our supplies, and we didn't have any idea what sort of shelter we would need, and then some salesman mentioned the Hennessy hammocks to us and it seemed like the best possible thing for us.

I researched them online to see about the price and BAM I got flooded with 2 year old forum posts about how people are trying to make their own, and how significantly cheaper they are.

I'm trying to be as stingy as possible to tell you the truth, while still getting the job done well, so I started looking into DIY hammocks, and to my surprise they seemed pretty simple, if i could find the material for it.

So, my questions are these;

1. I'm having a hard time finding ripstop nylon for cheap (cheapest is 10.99/m) and am painfully unaware of any other suitable materials that I could use. Also, I haven't been able to find the weight of any of the nylons that I've found... is there an easy way to measure the 1.1 or 1.9 ounce weight thing..?

2. Do you think that it's a good idea to try to make my own hammock, or should I just stick with the Hennessy, or are there any other cheap but still reliable pre-made hammocks suitable for a 5+ month retreat into a sometimes very wet tropical area? I also noticed that there is a selling hub on this site, I can always return my hennessy if need be, so what should I be looking for if I'm planning to purchase something from one of you fine people?

Thank you very much for any information that you can give me.

I look forward to becoming more situated within this little site of yours.

MacEntyre
02-26-2009, 18:27