PDA

View Full Version : Any solution for bugs and rain?

bristolview
03-01-2009, 09:53
Ok, I'm a newb at these, but I like the company so I thought I'd give them a look. I've gone hammock camping in various 'jungle hammocks' which offer bug netting and rain coverage. In the US North East, both are essential as I'm not sure I've ever been on a back woods trip without rain, and the bugs go with the territory. These hammocks look very comfortable, but what do you do about bugs and rain? Any options?

Cannibal
03-01-2009, 13:36
You can DIY a bug tube pretty easily. Warbonnet (http://www.warbonnetoutdoors.net/travel_h.htm) sells one too!:thumbup1:
There are tons of choices to make when it comes to tarps. Most people end-up getting a larger tarp anyway. One nice thing is that you get to customize your set-up right off the bat.

cavediver2
03-01-2009, 14:13
Ok, I'm a newb at these, but I like the company so I thought I'd give them a look. I've gone hammock camping in various 'jungle hammocks' which offer bug netting and rain coverage. In the US North East, both are essential as I'm not sure I've ever been on a back woods trip without rain, and the bugs go with the territory. These hammocks look very comfortable, but what do you do about bugs and rain? Any options?

take a look at the clarks and all the clarks now that are being made are made of 100% misquito proof material along with the bug net and weather shield is how you combat those things.

Cannibal
03-01-2009, 14:32
Took me a while to figure it out because he doesn't mention it anywhere in the post, but he posted in the TrekLight forum. I can only assume the question is directed about a bug net and tarp solution for a TL. They (TrekLight) don't sell anything like that right now.

I see why you like the folks at Clark cavediver2. I've been having email conversations with them for a couple of weeks now. They seem very helpful and don't seem to be bothered by my silly questions. :rolleyes:

bristolview