PDA

View Full Version : Temperature question regarding UQ.

mtbkr5
03-03-2009, 23:12
I am hanging this Friday-Monday on the AT and the weather is calling for highs in the low to mid 60s and lows in the mid 40s. I will be using a 0 degree bag, but I have no UQ. I am thinking of rigging a blanket under my hammock as a makeshift UQ. I would buy a UQ, but I am a poor college student. . Am I going to freeze my arse off?

Thanks,
Mike

mtbkr5
03-03-2009, 23:13
oh one more thing...should I throw in a sleeping pad to add some extra warmth?

Mustardman
03-03-2009, 23:17
In the 40s with a cheap walmart foam sleeping pad and a 0 degree bag you will probably be sweating your butt off even if you don't have an UQ.

mtbkr5
03-03-2009, 23:39
man I feel slightly retarded now reading my post and yours aloud...0 degree bag and 40 degree weather....wow. ok so thank you for clearing that up for me hahahah!

Mustardman
03-03-2009, 23:52
I wouldn't go that far - in my experience, even sleeping on the ground, bags rarely live up to their ratings. I've gotten a cold butt at around 25 degrees sleeping in a hammock with an inflatable mat and a 0 degree down bag.

In general, though, a walmart foam mat should be able to take you to the 20s or 30s no problem, and with a 0 degree bag you should be pretty good to go. The main thing to worry about is your shoulders and hips, which might get squeezed by the hammock. If I get a cold spot around my hips, I usually just stuff a rolled up piece of clothing in between me and the hammock and it goes away.

jeffjenn
03-04-2009, 01:51
Where on the AT you going?

psyculman
03-04-2009, 05:19
I cut a piece of the blue WalMart pad to fit inside my sleeping bag, and with a space blanket the usual place between my under cover and hammock, have been out into the lower teens, not a bit of cold ever, and no condensation either, the bag designers took care of that. :rolleyes:

MacEntyre
03-04-2009, 06:53