PDA

View Full Version : Dangerbird vs. Blackbird

skinn
02-05-2014, 07:32
Newbie here, I did a quick search but didn't see exactly what I was looking for. Please forgive me if this has been discussed at length already as I am sure it is a comparison that has been drawn often before.

I was pretty sure that I was going to get a Hennessey as that is what one of my camping buddies has. That was until I stumbled on this forum. Now the two top contenders are the Dream Hammock Dangerbird and the Warbonnet Blackbird.

I camp in early spring and late fall in the Adirondack mountains, we see nights down near and sometimes below the 32 degree mark. That being said I was thinking about getting the DL Blackbird so I could use one of my existing ground pads with it. Then I saw the Dangerbird and fact that it is sold as a four season. I don't really consider my camping to be four season but am wondering if it will be that much warmer than the Blackbird?

One final note is obviously overall comfort, I understand this is subjective but any argument for one or the other is welcome. Thanks!!

Edited to Add:
I am a medium framed but shorter camper, around 5'5" and 150 ish lbs

Gadgets
02-05-2014, 07:41
One thing you'll want to consider is that the Dangerbird will have an overcover and the Blackbird will not. If you are looking for a hammock with an overcover you might want to consider the Blackbird XLC and Thunderbird from Dream Hammock.

skinn
02-05-2014, 07:50
Oh boy, the Blackbird XLC wasn't on my radar for some reason. I guess now I have another decision!! I like the looks of that too, any pros or cons for going with the Blackbird XLC??

sr1355
02-05-2014, 07:51