PDA

View Full Version : JMT through hike

bghiker
05-20-2014, 17:14
Hey All-

I am planning a southbound JMT through hike from Happy Isles in August. I have my permits, shuttle arrangements, and resupply all arranged. This will be by far my longest backpacking trip so far, both in distance and time on the trail. My previous longest trip was 7 days and about 70 miles in Yellowstone last year. I am new to hammocking but have definitely been bitten hard by the bug. I have never been able to sleep well on the ground but was always able to push through with minimal sleep on my usual 2-4 day trips. However, the week long trip in Yellowstone last year showed me that if I am going to do long trips, I have got to figure out a way to get some sleep. A friend at work told me about hammocks and I did a little research and ended up getting a HH explorer deluxe zip last fall. I have had it out on several overnighters this winter and I absolutely love it...I sleep like a baby. I also have the HH hex tarp and a HG 20 degree incubator. I started out with the HH super shelter and although it kept me warm, I found it kind of a pain to set up, so I went with the UQ. Have only used the UQ a couple times so far, (only received it a couple weeks ago) but so far I like much more that the HH SS. I have also converted the stock suspension to whoopie slings.