PDA

View Full Version : Dont laugh- what do pads do?

Harpo63
07-16-2009, 09:58
Done laughing? Im new here, but definitely not a noob to hammocks. Have the same Hennesey I bought say... 10 yrs ago? Love it. Got hooked with a Mayan, got a ENO too. (Yes there are some things I think I need to change as far as gear or bags and Im finding them here!). I generally sleep what seems like the "old way" to you guys... Sleeping bag alone in the hammock. I was a long time backpacker before that and tent camped with thermarests. So I know what the pads do in that case... My sleeping bag from REI has two lofts- one side thicker for warmth, and a thinner side for warmer weather. So far, my back is comfortable and only once did it get cold enough that I added a space blanket under my bag (inside the hammock) and I was sweating. My initial impression is that the pad will just add bulk and make it uncomfortable? if its to help keep you warm, then wouldn't an uq do it? (be nice, Im just learning about all the cool stuff I could get for my hammock camping on my motorcycle!)

angrysparrow
07-16-2009, 10:01
Welcome to the forum.

My initial impression is that the pad will just add bulk and make it uncomfortable? if its to help keep you warm, then wouldn't an uq do it? (be nice, Im just learning about all the cool stuff I could get for my hammock camping on my motorcycle!)

Pads are indeed for warmth, not comfort.

Yes, underquilts work just fine, but they also cost more $. Pads are just another option to mix/match.

Cannibal
07-16-2009, 10:11
Pads also do a marvelous job of making you sweat. UQs are a much better choice IMO.

lori
07-16-2009, 10:26
If you are doing a very long hike in very high elevations and think there is a possibility of not being able to hang, a pad is a versatile thing - add to the underquilt for extra warmth, or pitch the tarp on the ground and sleep on the pad.

Most of the time I take two quilts and call it good. :)

Fiddleback
07-16-2009, 10:58