Tarp
    DIY Hex
    Insulation
    DIY UQ, ??? TQ
    Suspension
    Whoopie slings
    Images

New Hanger Questions

I am new to hammock camping but I have done my homework. I have been away from camping for a while and planned to start with tarp camping but then discovered hammock camping. Some of my gear was purchased before I realized hammocks might be a better alternative for me. However; I just had my first overnight and it showed me some gaps.

The best trees I have for testing are in my front yard but here was my pre-trip setup.
    • Hammock: ENO singlenest with DIY adjustable ridgeline
    • Suspension: DIY tree straps, Amsteel continuous loop with cinch buckles
    • Tarp: DIY tarp (11' ridgeline asym cat hex) with a continuous ridgeline and DIY snake skins
    • Insulation: Thermarest NeoAir Xlite and an REI Halo 40 sleeping bag (not pictured)

Hammock with fronkey inspired bugnet

Hammock with fronkey inspired bugnet, continuous ridgeline with tarp in snake skins

Hammock with tarp in porch mode, bugnet at one side

Hammock with tarp in porch mode, bugnet deployed

My first outing was great and I learned a few things. The big take aways for me after my first trip were:
    1. My hammock might be too small and/or my adjustable ridgeline isn't dialed in properly
      • Problem: I am 6'4 with an ENO singlenest
      • Solution: Buy and 11' hammock. The Dutchware Argon is half the weight and probably a good next step. I simply need more nights in a hammock testing my adjustable ridgeline.
    2. Insulation needs improvement
      • Problem: Inflatable air mattresses can be challenging in a hammock when trying to sleep at an angle from the center line of the hammock.
      • Solution: DIY underquilt. I have done some considerable research and plan to start this project in the near term to get back out there.
    3. Bugnet clastrophobia