Hammock
    Warbonnet BB
    Tarp
    WB Mambajamba
    Insulation
    WB Yeti
    Images

Avoiding Poison Ivy

After hiking with my brother earlier this summer in the Ozarks, I came to realize that almost every tree in some areas is covered in poison ivy. I guess in the fall/winter months I just didn't worry about what all those vines were, but it was quite obvious with them all leafed out.

How do you deal with it? I don't think it is actually feasible to just avoid trees with poison ivy on them, so we pulled the vines down with our walking poles where possible. I know that's not very LNT, but I didn't exactly feel bad about it either.

I'm no expert on it, but from what I've read it only takes a tiny bit of that oil in one place and you've got it everywhere. I thought about this as I stuffed my hammock (with the straps) into the BB sack on the second or third night. It wasn't such a huge deal, since we were touching it all day every day and didn't have any hope of avoiding it on this trip. I'm sure it's all over my pack/shoes/hat, etc even still.

On that note, does anyone know of a fabric-safe way to get the oils off of hammocks and tarps/backpacks/shoes?

Hammock
    Warbonnet ON!
    Tarp
    SuperFly or MacCat
    Insulation
    Yetis & Mambas
    Suspension
    Webbing and rings
    Images
    No help, but I deal with it with genetics.

I got a rash a few times as a kid, but these days I don't even look for Poison Ivy. I can literally rub the stuff on my skin without fear of reaction. They say that the tolerance can change over the years, but so far so good. Fingers crossed.

You should be able to hand wash your gear with a mild detergent to get the oils off. Not really any different from body oils. Doubtful it stuck to your tarp; nothing sticks to sil for long.
    Trust nobody!

Hammock
    WB Traveler
    Tarp
    ZPacks CF
    Insulation
    Te-Wa / HG / WB
    Suspension
    Whoopie Hooks
    Images
    Quote Originally Posted by Cannibal View Post