DH Dangerbird 11' 2 layer
    Tarp
    SLD Multicam
    Insulation
    Solar Ridgerest
    Suspension
    Cinch Buckle

My cold weather set up and test

Ok, I'm a newb and still pretty new to this plus I don't have much money so I call this my "redneck" winter set up. I'm currently using a Pak-It-Lite 4 season F.O.B. hammock. I don't have money for a UQ, so I'm using a windshield reflector on the very bottom underneath a Klymit Stativ V inflatable camp pad that has baffles in the pad pouch. I'm using a Military Modular sleep system for my bag which with my pad has really worked really well for keeping my butt toasty. I then have a military poncho liner draped over the ridgelinge with a cheap $2 space/survival myler blanket draped over that. Then on top of those I took a cheap Walmart twin size comforter, ran shock cord down the sides and ran paracord thru the ends with barrel locks on all 4 corners. This is attached to the ridgeline on both ends. Surprisingly, this combination has really worked pretty good. I have a digital thermometer that I took inside the hammock with me last nite. It was 25* with a 5-10 mph wind. I planned on sleeping in it for 3 hours, but due to a pee break and then a charlie horse in both legs from hiking in the woods all day, I only got to sleep in it for 2 hours. Let me tell you, I'm impressed. I think the space blanket is the main culprit for my heat retention as when I check the thermometer on exit I was 60* inside my hammock. I do all my testing in just sweat pants and t shirt so I had already pulled the sleeping bag off me earlier in the nite sometime. I have no idea at what point condensation is supposed to happen, but so far I haven't had any that I know of. I even have a battery operated fan inside that I pretty much use all the time (for the noise if nothing else). I realize others have braved colder climates, but I haven't got the chance yet so far. The part I didn't like about my testing is we got 3" of snow yesterday and I wear s