DIY Hyper D 1.1 gathered end
    Tarp
    DIY Silpoly
    Insulation
    HG UQ/HG TQ
    Suspension
    whoopie

DIY RSBTR Silpoly winter tarp - build thread

I have been making my first tarp over the course of the last few days and figured I'd post photos as I go. Between the holidays, kids, work, life, I have only a small amount of time each day (or none at all) so I'm just trying to enjoy the process and do a little each day.

NOTE - I read a recent thread on the theory that silpoly (low stretch) won't require cat cuts. I am new to this world and went with cat cuts w/o even considering. I'm sure this isn't my last tarp. Also cat cuts cut grams right??!

Also I am sewing and gluing my reinforcements, but my glue (liquid nail 100% silicone adhesive) isn't doing so great. I am sewing them as well, so whatever happens happens. This is my local (car/boat/notwalkingveryfar) tarp so it's ok if it's not perfect.

Below are my pics of my progress thus far and the materials I've used.

Borrowed plans from Sunkmail (thread is here)

10 yards of RSBTR Silpoly 1.1oz in Green Tea
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by corrumpu; 12-31-2014 at 10:51.

Hammock
    Hennessy Explorer Ultralite
    Insulation
    Thermarest Scout
    Looks good! Did you use the string method to get the cat cut template?

Hammock
    Tarp
    DIY Silpoly
    Insulation
    HG UQ/HG TQ
    Suspension
    whoopie
    I did. I attempted to use PVC with a string (think bow and arrow) but the curve didn't look right.. so I used some scrap wood and the string method. I used two tacks, mason's line and found my curve. Then I leaned the board at a 45 so the string was laying on the board and light misted it with some black spray paint instead of tracing the line. It worked perfectly and I was able to get a great line for cutting with the jigsaw.