DIY Dangerous Bird
    Tarp
    DIY Rooftop
    Insulation
    DIY Apex/Argon
    Suspension
    whoopies
    Images

Another DIY tarp, Introducing the Rooftop!

Hey everybody, I wanted to share my most recent venture into DIY, a silnylon tarp. This is my first attempt at making a tarp (certainly not my last). I learned a few things and all in all I think it turned out pretty good. I finally decided to start this build because I'm having hip replacement surgery in little over a week and part of my recovery plan is working towards a 3 day overnight on the Ouachita trail. With that goal out in front of me I didn't want to have to make the tarp for that trip during my recovery. Let me know what you think.

Finished dimensions are: 132x108 and weighs 26 oz with all lines and Argon stuff sack.

I started with 16 yards of 1.1oz grey silnylon 2nds from DiyGearSupply. (Enough material for this tarp and the next one) I don't know why I didn't think about using the garage floor for large layouts before this, but I will definitely use it again. I swept and cleaned up really well before I started so it wasn't an issue. Also the hard concrete floor made it much easier to "slide cut" with my shears so that job was a breeze.

I had my fabric folded over and cut both side all at once at 142 inches giving me both sides already facing the right way.

Next, I laid out my Tadpole to use as a guide. This is my most favorite tarp, in fact I love it so much I sold my Cuben tarp because I hardly ever used it! I wanted to end up with a slightly larger version of a Tadpole and with doors.

This is the step that I think I messed up on the most. I got the measurements wrong for how much offset I needed to have the doors line up the way I wanted. If anyone has good dimensions or plans other than the ones on DiyGearSupply.com let me know.