Hammock
    2 Blackbird XLC 1.7 DL SL
    Tarp
    Superfly
    Insulation
    IncubatorSniveller
    Suspension
    Standard Warbonnet

Noob lesson learned for an underquilt- snugging foot and head ends.

I hung in my backyard this weekend starting with Friday night in the low 20's. I have a 20 degree HG under quilt and a 20 degree JRB top quilt. I've used both without issues at similar temperatures this winter. That said, Friday I got cold. I didn't pay close enough attention to my under quilt suspension simply hooking the carribiner to the hammock suspension then putting my under quilt protector on. It was dark and cold Friday night when I set up and I took short cuts including not double checking things.

During the night I got cold shoulders, then cool feet something not expected because I was wearing my normal clothes for hanging at these temperatures. It was too dark to fiddle around with anything during the night Friday so I just added clothes to get through the night.

Yesterday I pulled the tarp off and looked closely at my under quilt. I realized that I hadn't tightened the primary suspension with a Dutch guilt hook, something I've dialed in previously. While the quilt looked to be hung properly the extra bit of snugness on head and foot ends wasn't there and cool air could seep in.

The first picture below shows how my under quilt foot end was hung. Head end was hung similarly. Note I've pulled my tarp back for this picture which explains the yellow threads.
    UQ without Dutch ridge line quilt hook.jpg

Look closely at the position of the top of the quilt in this picture, then check the two pics below where I've inserted a Dutch quilt hook. You'll see that the quilt is a little higher and snugger to the hammock. The second picture shows the hook pinching my primary suspension tighter.