Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Newbie tarp suspension questions

I am new to the hammock and tarps, and backpacking in general actually, and I am working on sorting everything out with the mass of info available here. I plan to get a tadpole tarp and I am trying to figure out how I should hang this thing. I have seen several ways to do it but I'm not sure where to begin. I don't think I want to go with a continuous ridgeline at this point and minimal hardware would be nice if possible. Also, I am not sure what type of cord is best for hanging and guy outs. If anyone can help point me in the right direction I would appreciate it! Thanks.

Hammock
    WBXLC, WBBB, LiteOwl
    Tarp
    Superfly, MambaJam
    Insulation
    HG Phoenix, WL Sum
    Suspension
    Webbing, Whoopies
    Images
    Here's what I did.
    I got a superfly tarp, and all those questions were running thru my head as well.
    Continuous ridgeline, over or under, or just the ends...how long should the ridge line be, etc.
    So I went to Home depot and got some masons line for $5 just to play around before I got my actual ridge line. (Masons line won't hold up as an actual ridge line).
    Once I got an idea of what I liked, I ordered up some zing-it to use as my ridge line.

With that said, my current configuration is a continuous ridge line, with the tarp hanging under the ridgeline. This keeps water from funneling down the line and onto my hammock when it rains. My tarp connects to the ridge line via a prussik knot.

And don't worry too much on your decision. Most everybody tries all the various ways at some point, then we pick the one we like.

Hammock
    DIY 1.6oz HyperD
    Tarp
    WB Superfly
    Insulation
    HG Burrow/Incu 20
    Suspension
    Whoopie Slings
    Images