Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Hammock
    SLD Tree Runner
    Suspension
    Whoopies/Straps

How strong is your tablecloth?

Hello,

I am very new to hammocks. I have never camped in one and the last time I was actually in a hammock was when I fell asleep in my neighbor's backyard hammock about 30 years ago lol.

Before I spend alot of money on a camping rig, I was thinking about making a tablecloth hammock as Caveman describes here - https://www.hammockforums.net/forum/...way-I-do-it%29

I have a question about how strong the tablecloths are. I am 6' tall and weigh 245-250, depending on who you ask

Will one of the 60"x126" taffeta tablecloths hold that much weight or will I need something more substantial?

Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Hammock
    Dutch net less wide
    Tarp
    Superfly
    Insulation
    HG 20's / SLD TW
    Suspension
    Straps/no harware
    a 60x126 crinkle taffeta will hold your weight fine. some claim they are good to around 400#. i dont doubt that claim, they seem to be pretty robust. im 5'8 and 210# and find the 90x132 much more comfortable. just recently i trimmed the width down to 70", to get rid of some of the excess material that hangs in your face.

Hammock
    DIY
    Tarp
    Digital Camo GG
    Insulation
    DIY UQ
    Suspension
    Speed Hooks!