Tarp
    DIY Diamond
    Insulation
    DIY Down
    Suspension
    Webbing/Whoopie
    Images

Quarter Weight

Does the Quarter Weight(or Gear Weight) net really work well? If it does, why would I go to all the trouble of attaching and zippers and velcro et cetera?

I just finished my first DIY Hennessey(ish) clone and put a zip on bug net. Came out OK, but I'm wondering if it was really worth the trouble(a real pain since I'm new to sewing).

I have an idea similar to the Quarter Weight that I may try, but if it doesn't work well, I would rather conserve the effort.

Jbo

Hammock
    Bridgeskin
    Tarp
    DIY Blackcat
    Insulation
    DIY Quilts
    Suspension
    Whoopie sling
    Images
    It works, but you don't get the seal you get with a zipper. I never really tried velcro b/c that looks like a pain. It is much easier to sew, but it doesn't look quite as cool IMO.
    Peace Dutch
    GA>ME 2003

www.MakeYourGear.com
    http://dutchwaregear.com[/URL]
    Visit Dutchwaregear on facebook (and like it)
    Check us out on Twitter @dutchwaregear

Hammock
    DIY Speer-type
    Tarp
    modded SG 12' x12'
    Insulation
    CCF and DAM
    Suspension
    whoopie slings
    Images
    I use quarterweight nets and I like them. They are KISS approved. I use one in the tropics, and I am sweetmeat for the bugs, and I never get bit. Of course, if I don't apply bug juice before I get out of my hammock, they're all over me like white on rice.

Hammock
    G-Bird II/Bridge
    Tarp
    Ogee tarp
    Insulation
    DIY TQ DIY Down UQ
    Suspension
    whoopies
    Images
    A sock is another alternative to think about. Sew up a full length tube of netting, install two drawstings, and slide it over the hammock suspension. Tie on a ridgeline to keep netting off of you while in the hammock.

I tried the weighted netting but could not get a good seal, unless I laid perfectly still. Every time I moved the netting had small gaps that let bugs in, not fun.