Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Amateur Going Wild

I thougth you would look in this, good cause I need some help.

I joined a scout troop as an assistant scout master. I am heading to camp this weekend with my brand new Hennessy Expedition. I just got in Saturday. I have not tried it due to time. I did open it up to look at it, with no idea how to tie it up. The videos are useless to me. I will figure it out. Not sure if I need certain knots or what. I didn't open the rain fly, so I assume the "tree huggers" are in there.

So, Here are my questions:

It might rain Friday night, not heavy, but any advise? Can I or do I need a little 5' by 5' blue tarp under me? I have a rainfly for my bag...but nothing under it. Trash Bag?

Looks like lows around 50, I have a 20 degree mummy, but do I need and how good do emergency blankets work? How hard is it to get into a sleeping bag?

How do you change clothes if no shelter around?

Other tips for my first time? NEVER done a hammock before, so clueless, but need to look "manly" in front of the boys.

Thanks

Maybe I offended...

52 views and no tips?

Hammock
    Warbonnet Blackbird/Ridgerunner
    Tarp
    OES 12x10
    Insulation
    WB Yeti/Lynx
    Images
    I can't offer much hennessey specific advice, but I will say your mummy bag probably won't protect you completely. You need some insulation underneath you - whether that's a cheap foam sleeping pad from walmart or a thermarest or something fancier and hammock-specific.

You only need a tarp underneath you if you're putting gear on the ground. I personally hang my backpack from the end of my hammock, but I also use a much larger tarp than the hennessey rain fly, so the tarp is able to protect the pack pretty well. A trash bag to put over your bag might be a good idea regardless of what you do.

As far as changing, I do that inside my hammock - it requires a bit of gymnastics but isn't too bad once you're used to it.

Hammock
    I have many so....
    Tarp