Would you trust Atlas straps to the full 400 pounds?

Hi,

I just became the owner of my first hammock, an ENO DN with Atlas straps. Atlas straps wouldn't have been my first choice, but the setup was on craigslist for a good price so I jumped on it.

I was reading an article on theultimatehang.com it said not to use Atlas straps for more than 200 lbs, I think due to dynamic load issues.

I'm a pretty light guy so I trust the straps for my personal use, but am a little bit concerned about hanging out with another person in the hammock with me. I realize it would be pretty crowded for two people, but it's still an option I'd like to have.

What do you guys/gals think? Do you have experience with/would you trust the Atlas to the full 400 lbs, or would it be more prudent to make new straps with heavier duty webbing?
    Last edited by rustyjanes; 05-21-2015 at 23:24.

I'm new to hammock but I'm sure you can't just combine ratings like that. The straps will still break with the same amount of force. With 200 lbs working load, the break strength should be around 1000 lbs on the straps. I forget the whole math stuff, but this rating is for straight line. When you put your suspension at an angle, it increase your forces on the straps. This is all base on when the straps are new btw. I wouldn't trust them with two people. It will probably work, but the safety margin is slim. Good luck.

Hammock
    Warbonnet Blackbird XLC 1.7 dl
    Tarp
    Warbonnet Superfly
    Insulation
    L.L Ghost Pepper
    Suspension
    Slings/Dutch Bckl
    Images
    Quote Originally Posted by rustyjanes View Post
    Hi,

I just became the owner of my first hammock, an ENO DN with Atlas straps. Atlas straps wouldn't have been my first choice, but the setup was on craigslist for a good price so I jumped on it.

I was reading an article on theultimatehang.com it said not to use Atlas straps for more than 200 lbs, I think due to dynamic load issues.