Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

JUST GETTING STARTED, HENNESSEY VS WARBONNET

I'm just getting started with hammock camping and looking to purchase a hammock. I know several people who have the WBBB and the WBbB XLC and they love them. I've laid in them but haven't spent the night in one of them. However since I'm just getting started price is a concern and Hennessey's come with most everything including the rain fly. I've always heard of Hennessey but would like to know if there is a substantial difference in comfort with Hennessey's vs. WBBB. I'm not sure which Hennessey I'd get at this point but was thinking of one of the ultra lights. Please give me your thoughts. Also is you can give me any other options to look at. I definitely want mosquito netting on it since I'm in the South.

Hammock
    Hennessy UL Backpacker Asym
    Tarp
    MacCat Deluxe
    Insulation
    HH Supershelter
    Suspension
    MSH,Whoopie slings

JUST GETTING STARTED, HENNESSEY VS WARBONNET

You're looking for a comparison and I have not tried the WBBB so I'm no good there. However, I am a southern hanger and you're right about the bugnet- there may be a two week window you don't need it but the rest of the time it is essential.

Regarding the Hennessy, I have 2- UL Backpacker and Explorer Deluxe. Both are great. At 6', I am more comfortable with the ED, but I still fit in the ULBP.

The Hennessy tarps _are_ included, but they are quite small, covering only the hammock with no overhang. If rain is blowing it will require moving the tarp down very close. I have a larger hex tarp that I use instead of the Hennessy now. (MacCat Deluxe).

Also- the bottom entry is a favorite feature for me, although I know a lot of people don't like it. To me, it is easy in/out plus invites fewer bugs in when entering/exiting. HTH
    Last edited by shhQuiet; 05-24-2015 at 16:13. Reason: bittom entry