Hammock
    Blackbird XLC, Danger Bird
    Tarp
    Super Fly
    Insulation
    Hammock Gear

Timberline Lake, Holy Cross Wilderness, Colorado

So there I was, stepping on a log I knew I shouldn't... Let's rewind a few weeks.
    I am not new to camping but I am a newbie when it comes to hammock camping. My good friend KSC got me started on this hammock camping this last winter. So I have been buying as much of the recommended equipment as the budget will allow. I have spent several nights out in the backyard strung up between couple of tripods. These little trial runs just don't have the ambiance of the fresh air and wild elements I love so much. So I have been looking for someplace relatively close by but remote enough that I might get lucky enough to avoid too many people. I started looking at satellite photos of the mountains I found a nice little lake in the Holy Cross Wilderness area, west of Leadville, CO.
    The weather finally cooperated this weekend so I made my getaway to the mountains. As I am driving up there I wonder what I have forgotten. Food, Water, Hammock plunder. Should be enough. I know I will find out what I could really use but I know I have the basics anyway.
    Even though it is a short hike and not too terribly steep I know that it will not be a walk in the park. The trailhead starts at about 10,000' elevation and ends about 800 feet higher. The air gets pretty thin and for an out of shape fat guy like me it will be a good enough challenge.
    The trail starts off crossing a nice little wooden bridge and quickly intersects the Colorado Trail. I continue on the trail to the lake and sign in at the Wilderness Boundary. It is a nice wide trail easy to follow.