Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Ridgeline ?

Ridgeline ?

I have a 1.1 ripstop 11' hammock I plan to use for the CT, two questions:

Is Zing-it adequate for the ridgeline, I'm concerned about abrasion on the fabric as well as strength.
    Is 1.1 tough enough to handle 30 days on the trail.

I'm 6'1", 180 lb.

Hammock
    Thommock
    Suspension
    Whoopie slings
    I'm sure it would work fine. I prefer dynaglide or amsteel for ridgelines. I can't speak as to the abrasion of the rope on 1.1oz ripstop as I've never used it before. I wouldn't think it would do any more damage than other ropes.

Hammock
    Dutch PolyD
    Tarp
    HG Winter Palace
    Insulation
    HG 0, 20, 40
    Suspension
    Dutch Speed Hook
    Images
    I'm 5'11" and 165 lbs. - I've never used anything but Zing-It 1.75 mm for my ridgelines (well, except that one moment when I thought 2.2 mm was better).
    “The way to see by Faith is to shut the eye of Reason.” - Benjamin Franklin

Hammock
    DIY
    Tarp
    Digital Camo GG
    Insulation
    DIY UQ
    Suspension
    Speed Hooks!
    I'm just over 225 and 1.75 works fine for me. If hung properly, there shouldn't be that much weight on the ridgeline.
    "Never corner anything meaner than you are...."-Unknown

Hammock
    WBBB xlc,Dutch,DIY
    Tarp
    WB Superfly
    Insulation
    HG UQ/TQ
    Suspension
    Whoopies/Huggers
    Images
    I use 1.75 on all my CRL's. Works just fine.
    As messed up as a soup sandwich

Quote Originally Posted by Richard Tipton View Post
    I'm just over 225 and 1.75 works fine for me. If hung properly, there shouldn't be that much weight on the ridgeline.
    A hammock has a small range of tree distance that will allow for what would be called a proper hang, sometimes we have to settle for what's available. In the east that's not much of an issue, but I'm going out west in higher elevations and concerned I may be hanging in situations that put a lot of stress on the ridgeline.