Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: DEFCON 5 Bugnet

DEFCON 5 Bugnet

I started typing this up as a reply to another person in another thread and I felt like I was hijacking a bit, so here's a quick walk through of how I put together my $10 mosquito net. It was my first bugnet, and I'm relatively new to my sewing machine, so I bought most of the stuff at Joann's on the cheap )always use the 50% off coupons!), so if I messed it up it was no big deal. Lash it, shock cord, and cord locks where the only things that didn't come from Joann's.

I wanted a net that completely encompasses the hammock so I can never be bitten no matter how much I flail in the night. I'm a very warm sleeper and wanted an option where I had bug protection without an UQ or UQ protector, or even a pad if it's super warm out.

And I know that this is heavier than a Fronkey style bugnet, but I'm not an ultralight packer. Also, I'm not sure how much it weighs, but I can weigh it when the weather gets better if you guys want.

Also, I know I'm not the originator of this design, and I know there's a similar commercial product out there, but I haven't seen a thread about this style -- though I'm sure I just missed it.

Without further ado:

I started with 6 or 7 yds of black matte tulle (wide - 108") from Joann's. I draped it over the hammock and cut it to a little longer than the length of the hammock. The lengthwise center of the fabric is the ridge line, and you should have 54" of bugnet hanging down on either side.

Next I hemmed two thin strips of ripstop -- I would guess about 2"x22" after the hem. I sewed a small grosgrain loop to this piece starting from the center of the strip facing to one side, so when the loop is folded lengthwise the grosgrain is sticking out as a guy point. See in the following picture at the very top of the ridgeline.