Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Ventum outer layer?

Hello Forums, fledgling DIY'r here. I've made a couple gathered end hammocks with knotty mods and paired them with bishop bags. I'm now starting to think about quilts. However, I've a fabric inquiry.

Zpacks sells a fabric 'Ventum' which looks pretty phenomenal on paper. .7 oz/yard, highly water resistant, downproof, and wind resistant, as well as being ripstop. But, I cannot find any examples of people using the fabric and reviewing how it works in real-world applications.

I have been thinking of using it for the outer layer of a down underquilt as it looks ideally suited for that purpose.

Has anyone used this fabric, or know anything about it?

Any insight is greatly appreciated.

Hammock
    Dream Hammock DangerBird
    Tarp
    WL Tadpole
    Insulation
    DIY down UQ
    Suspension
    Cinch buckles
    Hmm, curious. I have no experience with it myself, but if it's as good at blocking wind as it says, you might be on to something.

Here's my play at devil's advocate: does it need to be water resistant? What are you going to be doing where water would be likely to get on your quilt, or is it just a precautionary measure?
    My worry would be that that water-resistance would keep the vapour produced by your body from escaping, thus wetting the down from the inside. A lightweight alternative would be Argon67.

Surely others with more quilting experience than I possess will chime in.

That said; order some, make a test quilt, and report back! You could be on to something great
    Corvis natum est.

Hammock
    Warrior Edge UL - LSoH
    Tarp
    'Razor' Hex - LSoH
    Insulation
    LSoH Toaster TQ/UQ
    Suspension
    Various
    Water resistant might simply refer to dwr/ calendered.

Hammock
    DIY
    Images